Operationally the layout could be operated by one person (but somewhat limited) or up to about 15 people.With an operable helix, we have run up to three trains on each main line at one time.
If we can stay organized enough, we should be able to have up to ten trains running simultaneously on the mains and branch lines, not including local switching and industrial branches or commuters.When we get full-blown operating sessions, it would not be unusual to see 15 or more locomotives or trains all moving simultaneously.There is no prototype for the Hennepin-Overland; it is a freelance layout design.There is no particular era represented, though we try to use structures that date to the late steam era (1930-1960).
The Hennepin Overland is the successor to an unincorporated association of railroad hobbyists formed in 1976 in Richfield.
In 1985, the Hennepin-Overland (then 1,600 square feet) was moved and reassembled in 1987 at Lexington and University in St. In 1996, enlarged to 4,000 square feet, Hennepin-Overland began looking for its own facility and settled in 1997 on the current building in Minneapolis. In July, 1999, the display was opened in time for the National Model Railroad Association Convention in St. The 4,000 square foot railroad display of the Hennepin-Overland Museum currently consists of eastbound and westbound mainlines, a branchline serving the fictitious towns of New Bergin and Summit, a logging line featuring a breathtaking hand-made trestle bridge and a logging camp, multiple upper level storage yards and industrial spurs, and lower-level storage/staging yards.